Notable WGD Members Serving on ARRL Committees

The WGD has several outstanding volunteers serving on a variety of 2012 ARRL Committees.   Steven Polunsky, W5SMP was reappointed to the Public Relations Committee along with OK SM Kevin O’Dell, N0IRW.  Polunsky, in his second year with the Committee was also asked by ARRL President Kay Craigie, N3KN to Chair the Committee for 2012.  The PR Committee is a national level committee of about 10 people appointed annually by the President of the ARRL. Comprised of people with extensive experience in different areas of public relations, media work, news and social issues experience, this committee is the “go to” group to make national level events happen. They provide support, advice and skilled help to make things happen. This is very much a working committee and appointees realize that it will take time and effort. But it also pays off handsomely in feelings of accomplishment for those whose passion is Amateur Radio.  To learn more about the Committee please visit

Former Director Coy Day, N5OK was asked to continue his Chairmanship of the DX Advisory Committee.  The DXAC is responsible for making recommendations to the Board of Directors through its oversight standing committee, Programs and Services.

James George, N3BB continues with his appointment to the Contest Advisory Committee and AE5P, Army Curtis will continue to serve on the VHF/UHF Advisory Committee.

Glen Reid, K5FX will continue to represent the WGD on the Emergency Communications Advisory Committee for 2012.  The ARRL ECAC (Emergency Communications Advisory Committee) was established at the January 2010 Board of Directors meeting.  Each of the 15 ARRL Divisions has a representative on the ECAC. There is also a representative from Radio Amateurs Canada, a Board of Directors liaison, HQ staff liaison, and administrative liaison.

WGD League members interested in serving on Advisory Committees should contact Director Woolweaver.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.