2012 WGD QSL Card Contest Winners

QSL Card Contest

The West Gulf Division wishes to thank all of the Division members who submitted their QSL cards into the 2012 WGD QSL Card Contest.  The competition was vigorous in all three categories.

The true beauty of any QSL card is in the eyes of the designer, we deliberately did not set any boundaries for what kind of QSL card could be submitted into any category.  Who is to say what is graphical or humorous?  Only the designer could identify how they intended the QSL card to be viewed.

The WGD wishes to thank Main Trading Company and Austin Amateur Radio Supply for generously donating the HT units for the category winners.

We also thank our blue ribbon judging panel who graciously gave of their time, carefully examining each entry and voting for the card they felt best represented each category.  The four WGD Section Managers each appointed one Judge to represent their section and the WGD Leadership appointed one Judge to make a total to five judges:

  • NTX Section – Bob DeVance, K5CRX
  • OK Section – Joe White, K5BQG
  • STX Section – Susan King, K5DU
  • WTX Section – Dave Cockrum, N5DO
  • West Gulf Division – Coy Day, N5OK, ARRL DXCC Committee Chair

The judges were asked to rank their top three choices in each category.  Their first choice was awarded three points, their second choice two points and, their third choice one point.  Using the point system, the decisions were unanimous in all three categories in the first round of voting.

Congratulations to the Three Category Winners!

Most Humorous

NU5DE Naturist ARC

Best Graphic

Steve Frerking, KE5CNS

Best Photo

Mike Olbrisch, KD9KC

Congratulations to our GRAND PRIZE winner – Mike Olbrisch, KD9KC!

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.