WGD Announces New Annual Division Awards

Director David Woolweaver is pleased to announce the creation of the West Gulf Division Annual Division Awards.  There are two primary awards: Ham of the Year and Young Ham of the Year, which will be complimented by a third award, the West Gulf Division Excellence Award.  While the first two awards are self explanatory, the third award represents any Amateur Radio endeavor that the nominators feel deserves recognition.  Suggested categories can be found on the Division website.  They include Educator of the Year, Radio Scouter of the Year, Technical Achievement and Amateur Radio Organization of the Year among many others.   For the WGD Excellence Award only, the nominators are not limited to the suggested categories.

Divisional Awards will be presented at the West Gulf Division Convention each year.  Nominations for 2012 Award Winners will be accepted until April 15, 2013 for presentation at HamCom in June.  Nomination forms for each nominee (by category) must be supported by at least three ARRL members on the award nomination form, a minimum 150-word statement and any available supporting documentation.  Other rules do apply and can be found in the Awards Package below.

The Division Awards judging panel consists of four (4) ARRL members, selected by each of the Section Managers in North Texas, Oklahoma, South Texas and West Texas Sections.  The Section Manager may opt to appoint his/herself to the committee.  The fifth judge is selected by the Division Director and may reside anywhere within the West Gulf Division.   Neither the Division Director nor the Vice Director will participate in the vote.

West Gulf Division Awards Full Package

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.